RSS Feed - News & Sport


Junior Cert Results Day 2017

Junior Cert Results 2017 RTE

Junior Cert Results Day 2017 photo album

Junior Cert Results Day in CCS was a little more remarkable than usual in 2017. Word filtered through on Wednesday morning that RTÉ's Eileen Magnier was in the area and intended to make an appearance. The result was a prime-time slot on the Six One News. Several pupils were interviewed and spoke very well, with Nathan McConalogue's 15 minutes of fame completely used up! Pupils commended teachers and Principal Fiorentini offered congratulations and good luck to all new Seniors.

Cycle Against Suicide - Ambassador School

Ernest Ella Ambassador School

Ernest Postrero (5A) and Ella Devlin (5A) proudly represented CCS when recently collecting the Cycle Against Suicide Ambassador School award at the Royal Hospital, Kilmainham. The award recognises the excellent work by teachers and students in CCS to promote positive mental health. We continue to share the important message that "Its OK not to feel OK, and absolutely OK to ask for help."

Parents Associations - AGM Schedule (September / October 2017) AMENDED SCHEDULE

Tue. 12th Sept. AGM Malin / Malin Head Parents Assoc. (8pm, Scoil Treasa Naofa)

Wed. 13th Sept. AGM Iskaheen / Moville Parents Assoc. (8pm, Quigley's Point Community Centre)

Wed. 13th Sept. AGM Culdaff / Gleneely Parents Assoc. (8pm, Bocan Hall)

Thurs. 14th Sept. AGM Carndonagh Parents Assoc. (8.30pm, School Áras)

Tues. 19th Sept. AGM Clonmany Parents Assoc. (8pm, Strand Hotel)

Wed. 11th Oct. CPC (8pm, School Board Room)

Oisin Bowyer's Ethiopian Adventure (Projects Abroad)

Oisin Bowyer Projects AbroadOisin Bowyer Projects Abroad Ethiopia photo album / video

It was July 1st that I set of from Dublin Airport full of excitement and I must admit some apprehension! Not afraid of the prospect of the mission itself but simply venturing off into the completely unknown; but it’s okay as it’s adventure I thrive off!

Having received so much support in fundraising from family, friends and the school community here in CCS, I had all my finances in order for the trip. I was going to spend two amazing yet tough weeks in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia volunteering with the beautiful orphans in the Sele Enat Mahiber Orphanage. I was one in a group of five that were to work together with a NGO called ‘Projects Abroad.’ We arrived in Ethiopia at an ungodly hour of the morning! On our way to the orphanage where we would be staying we were shocked as we saw people lying on the streets, wrapped up and sleeping. This atmosphere was absolutely breathtaking as everything was completely different; the smells, noises, dogs barking everywhere and the conditions some people were sleeping in. It was extremely hard to hold our tears in! After settling in with my wonderful host family it was time for my first day’s work at the orphanage. I hadn’t even set foot in the place, only to be greeted by crowds of smiling, happy kids who shouted ‘welcome’ and ‘ferenji’ (a derogatory/friendly term for a foreigner).

On the very first day we met Projects Abroad staff members Hanna and Haile (our driver) who took us on a tour of Addis Ababa. It was unbelievable how friendly everyone was; everyone said ‘Hello’ when we walked past them. We went for a spin through the two five-star hotels which made the disparity between the rich and the poor very clear. What made it even more unusual was that outside these fancy hotels were homeless people lying on the grass, face down, sleeping.

Read more: Oisin Bowyer's Ethiopian Adventure (Projects Abroad)