CCS - St Columba's 22-0

The CCS U16s rugby team played St. Columba's Stranalor on Thursday 17th December and won impressively 22-0. The CCS boys started strongly with some determined runs by Stephen Kelly (captain), Padraig McCarron and Oran Kearney, but St. Columba's defence stood strong. CCS opened the scoring with a fine penalty kick from out-half Ultan Doherty. Connor Quigley, running the game at scrum-half, passed to Padraig McCarron who ran at the opposition's numbers 10 & 12. A superb offload found Conor Bambrick, who showed great pace and a fantastic side-step to score under the posts; Ultan Doherty converted. The rest of the first half saw CCS playing mostly in the opponent's 22, but giving away penalties to allow them to clear their lines. The half ended CCS 10 - 0 St. Columba's.

In the second half CCS were playing into the wind and needed the front eight to rule the half; they did that. Continuous carries from PJ Callaghan, Kevin Noone and Owen Doherty opened up the visiting team's defence. Finally the breakthrough came with another fine finish from winger Ciaran Doherty. St. Columb's threw everything at the CCS lads in the last 10 minutes, but with some great tackling by Patrick O'Leary and Dylan McGonigle, and ball-stealing by PJ Callaghan, the try line was never reached. At the end Ultan Doherty picked up a loose ball near the wing and with a quick turn of pace passed the St. Columba's back line to score under the posts. A successful conversion followed. Final score CCS 22 - 0 St. Columba's. We would like to thank Gregg Byron from Inishowen RFC for referring the game.

The CCS U16s rugby squad: Stephen Kelly 2B, Sean Carroll 2D, Michael Harkin 3B, Keanan Callaghan 3C, William J Callaghan 3C, Finin MacLoachlainn 3D, PJ Callaghan 3E, Dylan Mc Gonigle 3F, Paddy Monagle 3F, Dylan Doherty 3G, Eoin Doherty 3G, Darragh McCormick 3G, Kevin Noone 4C, Oran Kearney 4D, Thomas Mullin 4D, Thomas Cavanagh 4D, Ultan Doherty TYA, Patrick O’Leary TYA, Sean Byrne TYB, Padraig McCarron TYB, Micheal Porter TYB, Connor Quigley TYB, Oisin McGonigle TYC, Conor Bambrick TYB, Ciaran Doherty TYB.